August 30, 2021 3 min read


WynnBET Enters Arizona, Regulator Allocates Event Wagering Licenses

Under a strategic agreement with the San Carlos Apache Tribal Gaming Enterprise, WynnBET entered the regulated market in Arizona on Friday last week. On the same day, the state regulator revealed that it had granted 18 event wagering licenses. The Arizona Department of Gaming also launched fantasy sports contests on Saturday, August 28, 2021.

WynnBET Enters Arizona Market via Strategic Agreement

Wynn Resorts, the global luxury hospitality leader, announced on Friday last week that its WynnBET sports betting app secured online sports betting license in Arizona. The market entry was completed in collaboration with the San Carlos Apache Tribal Gaming Enterprise.

The company revealed that it will grant Arizona customers access to its Wynn Rewards program as soon as the state launches sports wagering, which is planned for September 9 this year. Additionally, Wynn unveiled that there will be three-member tiers: Red, Platinum, and Black.

Coinciding with Wynn’s announcement, the Arizona Department of Gaming (ADG) announced the list of tribal and professional sports organizations that have been granted event wagering licenses. Under current Arizona regulations, the ADG can allocate 20 licenses in total, 10 to professional sports teams/organizations and 10 to tribal operators.

ADG Allocates 18 Event Wagering Licenses

On Friday, the regulator said that it had allocated a total of 18 licenses. In other words, two applicants did not receive a license from the ADG. The regulator said that licensed event wagering operators can start their marketing and sign-up campaigns online and via mobile applications as of Saturday, August 28. However, the ADG stressed that event wagering will not go live before September 9 this year.

Tribal Licenses AllocatedSports Team/Organization Licenses Allocated
1. Fort Mojave Indian Tribe (SuperBook Sports)
2. Navajo Nation
3. Quechan Tribe (Unibet Arizona)
4. Tonto Apache Tribe (Churchill Downs)
5. Tohono O’odham Nation
6. Hualapai Tribe (Golden Nugget)
7. Ak-Chin Indian Community
8. San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe (Digital Gaming)
9. San Carlos Apache Tribe (Wynn)
10. Ft. McDowell Yavapai Nation
1. Arizona Cardinals (BetMGM)
2. Arizona Diamondbacks (William Hill)
3. Phoenix Suns (FanDuel)
4. Arizona Coyotes
5. Phoenix Mercury (Ballys)
6. TPC Scottsdale (DraftKings)
7. Phoenix Speedway (Penn National)
8. Arizona Rattlers (Rush Street Interactive)

Fantasy Sports Contest Live as of August 28

Besides event wagering, the ADG revealed that it has launched fantasy sports wagering as of August 28, 2021. Consequently, residents within state lines can now legally sign-up and place a wager on these games. Overall, 6 operators received a fantasy sports contest license. Those are FanDuel, DraftKings, and FFPC. Yahoo, Fantasy Sports Shark as well as Underdog Sports have also received fantasy sports contest licenses from the ADG.

I am proud of the hard work by all to accomplish this feat and excited to see Arizonans responsibly enjoy legal fantasy sports starting tomorrow, 8/28, as well as event wagering on 9/9!

Ted Vogt, director, ADG

Ted Vogt, director at the ADG, thanked stakeholders and the public for their feedback regarding event wagering and fantasy sports implementation processes. The hard work and dedication of everyone involved “allowed Arizona to be one of the fastest states to operationally start these new games since the passing of the enabling legislation,” explained Vogt.


Jerome is a welcome new addition to the Gambling News team, bringing years of journalistic experience within the iGaming sector. His interest in the industry begun after he graduated from college where he played in regular local poker tournaments which eventually lead to exposure towards the growing popularity of online poker and casino rooms. Jerome now puts all the knowledge he's accrued to fuel his passion for journalism, providing our team with the latest scoops online.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *