April 10, 2019 4 min read


Blizzard Release More Information about WoW Classic PvP

  • Blizzard reveals PvP content release plan
  • All iconic battlegrounds, from Warsong Gulch, to Alterac Valley, to Arathi Basin to be featured
  • The PvP content will be released along with the six-phase content release plan for PvE

Blizzard published a new update about their upcoming World of Warcraft Classic initiative, fleshing more information about how PvP will work. The company previously clarified the PvE system.

Introducing PvP to WoW Classic

If you love World of Warcraft, then there’s definitely lots of reasons to be excited. Another blue post appeared on April 8 and this time the PvP buffs among us got what they needed to know. Blizzard are again taking a gradual approach to how they release the full-scaled version of Player versus Player.

According to the company’s Classic community manager, Bornakk, Phase I will be very liberal in terms of what you can do. For instance, Blizzard isn’t planning on penalizing Dishonorable Kills during this stage of PvP implementation.

The Cape of Stranglethorn Vale. Photo Credit: Blizzard

Should you want to hunt down NPCs in Stranglethorn Vale, Bornakk noted, this will be something you can do to your heart’s content. However, come Phase II, and things will change. Blizzard will begin introducing order in the unfolding chaos of World PvP, and those who shine at it will be rewarded. Phase II will feature:

  • Honorable Kills
  • Dishonorable Kills
  • PvP Rank Rewards

All PvP Rewards will match those that were originally featured in Patch 1.12. You will start as a Scout and progress all the way up to High Warlord, going through 14 distinct ranks.

How to Become WoW Classic Warlord

Just as Bornakk sagely warns on the Blizzard forum, climbing though the ranks would require a substantial time investment. Whether you are a Grand Marshal (A) or a High Warlord (H), you will need to accumulate 60,000 Honor Points and then outdo all the other PvP aficionados on your realm.

Only 0.1% of the players can carry the rank and this will usually mean one individual player for the majority of the realms making the contest pretty cut-throat. Even reaching Marshal General would very possibly require you to spend the entire weekend playing Battle Grounds and then dedicating 4 evenings to a fiery action.

The more you advance through the levels, the better perks you will get depending on your rank:

1 Private Scout Tabard
2 Corporal Grunt Team insignia trinket
3 Sergeant Sergeant Superior-quality cloak, 10% discount on all goods and repairs from your faction’s NPCs
4 Master Sergeant Senior Sergeant Superior-quality necklace
5 Sergeant Major First Sergeant Superior-quality bracers
6 Knight Stone Guard Access to officer’s barracks, officer’s tabard, and potions
7 Knight-Lieutenant Blood Guard Superior-quality boots and gloves
8 Knight-Captain Legionnaire Superior-quality chest armor and leggings
9 Knight-Champion Centurion Battle standard Use: Place a Battle Standard with 1500 health that increases the maximum health of all party members that stay within 45 yards of the Battle Standard by 15%. Lasts 2 min.
10 Lieutenant Commander Champion Superior-quality helm and shoulder armor
11 Commander Lieutenant General Commander’s epic mount
12 Marshal General Epic-quality chest armor, leggings, and boots
13 Field Marshal Warlord Epic-quality helm, shoulder armor, and gloves
14 Grand Marshal High Warlord Epic-quality weapon and shield

Alterac Valley Is Coming to WoW Classic

Alterac Valley did divide the community when it was first announced, but it is now coming to WoW Classic and it’s the 1.12 version one we will get. There will be also Warsong Gulch, naturally, which is a natural part of the progression. The vendors will also be featured, so there will be accessories for all.

Classic Alterac Valley. Photo Credit: Reddit user Details-Examples

This will be supplemented with Arathi Basin in Phase IV along with its specific vendor and new opportunities to meet the opposing faction. Phase VI will feature specific PvP objectives in Silithus and Eastern Plaguelands and it will coincide with Naxxramas.

For a full list of the PvP content release plan, refer to the following list:

Phase 1 (WoW Classic Launch)

  • You can PvP one another in the world, but there is no tracking, and no formal rewards for doing so.

Phase 2

  • Honor System (including Dishonorable Kills)
  • PvP Rank Rewards

Phase 3

  • Alterac Valley (version 1.12 2.9k)
  • Warsong Gulch

Phase 4

  • Arathi Basin

Phase 6

  • World PvP objectives in Silithus and Eastern Plaguelands

Lead Editor

Mike made his mark on the industry at a young age as a consultant to companies that would grow to become regulators. Now he dedicates his weekdays to his new project a the lead editor of GamblingNews.com, aiming to educate the masses on the latest developments in the gambling circuit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *