July 2, 2021 3 min read

Gaming Hall of Fame Accepting Names for Class of 2021

The Gaming Hall of Fame, which honors people with contributions to the gaming industry, has announced that it’s accepting nominees for its Class of 2021.

Gaming Hall of Fame’s New Class Will Be Presented in October

Did you know that Celine Dion, Frank Sinatra, Tom Jones, Wolfgang Puck, the late Sheldon Adelson, and Debbie Reynolds are also gaming-hall-of-famers? The Gaming Hall of Fame includes gaming professionals like Bennie and Jack Binion (father and son), who made the World Series of Poker popular worldwide. Other celebrities like magician David Copperfield and comedian Don Rickles, former Nevada Senator Harry Reid and boxing impresario Don King are also members.

Now nominations are being accepted until July 11 for the next group of inductees. The American Gaming Association (AGA) will create a submission list, and an independent panel of gaming executives will review it. The new class will be presented on October 5 at the Global Gaming Expo.

There Was No Gaming Hall of Fame Class in 2020

There wasn’t a class last year due to COVID-19. AGA President Bill Miller said in a statement, “It’s been one of the most challenging years in our industry’s history. Through it all, I have remained in awe of those who have led the way and the trailblazers who have put an indelible mark on gaming.” He added that the association recognizes these exceptional leaders in the industry through the Gaming Hall of Fame. AGA invites nominations from all over the industry and anticipates celebrating the new class in October.

In 2019, the class included Elaine Hodgson, co-founder, president and CEO of Incredible Technologies; Ernie Moody, president of Action Gaming and creator of Triple Play Poker; and Stanley Mallin, real estate, hotel and casino developer.

Gaming Hall of Fame Charity Event Benefits the ICRG

The Gaming Hall of Fame presentation, established in 1989, includes an annual Charity Gala event organized by AGA, honoring people with achievements in the industry for leadership and entertainment. It is the highest honor in the gaming industry and marks those with significant contributions to the industry. More than 80 people have been distinguished in the Gaming Hall of Fame since its inception. The money from the charitable dinner and induction ceremony, organized by AGA and its members, goes to the International Center for Responsible Gaming (ICRG).

The ICRG was formerly known as the NCRG (National Center for Responsible Gaming). On January 1, 2020, the center officially embraced its international mission, reflecting its impact globally. Since its establishment in 1996, the ICRG has studied and helped countless individuals and families struggling with gambling disorder.


Eva is a PR specialist and communications expert with ten years of experience in campaign organizing and creative writing. She is also a published author of fictional stories. Eva recently developed an interest in economics and the gaming industry after discovering the inspirational story of Molly Bloom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *