August 8, 2023 3 min read


AGA Announces Its Gaming 2023 Hall of Fame Honorees

The organization recognized individuals who have made significant contributions to the gaming industry, honoring them at an exclusive Las Vegas ceremony

The American Gaming Association (AGA)’s 2023 additions to its prestigious Gaming Hall of Fame Class continue a lasting legacy of recognizing excellence and promoting innovation. This year, Brett Abarbanel, Jim Allen, Kirsten Clark, and John Connelly will receive accolades for their merits and contributions to the industry.

Four Innovative Leaders Take Center Stage

The Gaming Hall of Fame’s legacy dates back to 1989, showcasing the individuals who shaped the industry’s future. Highlighting these accomplishments allows businesses to build upon successful practices and achieve lasting success. 2023’s entries are no exception, excelling in their respective fields to stand out amidst their peers.

These four esteemed individuals are:

  • Bill Anoatubby – Serving as the Governor of the Chickasaw Nation, he has been a driving force behind the tribe’s successful gaming ventures.
  • Robert Miodunski – His vision and leadership at American Gaming Systems, Bally Gaming, and Alliance Gaming have been instrumental in shaping the direction of gaming technology and entertainment.
  • Jim Murren – With a notable tenure as the former chair and CEO of MGM Resorts International, he demonstrated an innovative leadership approach and strategic vision. 
  • Ellen Whittemore – As Executive VP, General Counsel, and Secretary of Wynn Resorts, her contributions were crucial in navigating complex legal challenges and ensuring the integrity of gaming operations.

An independent panel featuring seasoned industry professionals selected these leading gambling personalities, elevating them to the prestigious Gaming Hall of Fame Class. The panel members include people like Brett Abarbanel, Executive Director of the International Gaming Institute at UNLV, Interblock CEO John Connelly, Executive Director of the International Association of Gaming Advisors Kirsten Clark, and Jim Allen, CEO of Seminole Gaming and Chair of Hard Rock International.

Their Achievements Will Leave a Lasting Impact

Abarbanel, Connelly, Clark, and Allen will receive their distinction at an invitation-only induction ceremony during this year’s Global Gaming Expo in Las Vegas. The event will provide a platform for networking, innovation, and knowledge sharing as the Gaming Hall of Fame induction celebrates the exceptional achievements of industry luminaries.

The AGA’s recognition of these distinguished individuals underscores the organization’s commitment to highlighting the positive impact of the gaming industry on communities, economies, and entertainment. AGA President and CEO Bill Miller noted that this year’s laureates were instrumental in positively transforming businesses and communities through their lasting dedication to the evolution of gaming.

Bill, Ellen, Jim, and Robert’s far-reaching impacts on gaming are indelible-and undoubtedly worthy of inclusion in the Hall of Fame.

Bill Miller, AGA President, and CEO

The upcoming momentous induction ceremony will celebrate the honorees’ achievements and highlight their enduring impact on the gaming industry. The contributions of leaders like Bill Anoatubby, Robert Miodunski, Jim Murren, and Ellen Whittemore stand as a testament to the sector’s innovation and transformative power, elevating them above their peers.

Deyan is an experienced writer, analyst, and seeker of forbidden lore. He has approximate knowledge about many things, which he is always willing to apply when researching and preparing his articles. With a degree in Copy-editing and Proofreading, Deyan is able to ensure that his work writing for GamblingNews is always up to scratch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *