American Poker Awards Results

  • By
  • Published
  • Est. 3 minutes

The fourth annual APA or American Poker Awards had 54 nominations in 20 categories. It is the most significant award ceremony to date, and perhaps the most controversial. Three names stood out when the shortlists appeared. Poker Central was nominated for eight awards. Doug Polk was up for three. Andaz West Hollywood and Daniel Negreanu were also among the people on the lists.

Negreanu and Polk made a list of Biggest Influencer and Best Video Blogger, respectively. They have one of the most significant presences in the poker world, right now, and it was almost assured one or both would win the categories. However, neither of these two men went home with any awards.

Instead, the win went to Poker Central. Poker Central is now the broadcast king, who obtained four awards. There was some controversy about the awards considering their choice in anointing Cary Katz as the top influencer. This took Polk right out of the running for the win.

Poker Central also gained an award for their podcast. The person behind the podcast, Remko Rinkema now holds the title of both the American and European poker award. Nick Schulman was named Broadcaster of the Year for Dead Money and PokerGo. There was also a Super High Roller Bowl story that won the Media Content Award.

For a company, there was a “bias” toward Poker Central and this upset some of the fans watching the awards. They figured Polk and Negreanu should have at least one award after the evening.

Individual Upsets Too

It was clear from watching the broadcast of the awards that Andrew Neeme held the single spotlight. He beat out Negreanu and Polk for the Best Video blogger award. He was a live cash game player who decided to try video blogging. Neeme also earned 10,000 points from the people for the People’s Choice Award for Poker Personality of the Year.

Lynn Gilmartin who hosted the World Poker Tour was also prominently featured during the awards ceremony. Matt Savage gained his third award for Industry Person of the Year. Ema Zajmovic went home with the Moment of the Year award and was the first female to win the World Poker Tour. The Mid-Major Live Circuit award went to WPTDeepStacks. Savage and Rinkema are the only two who did not go home with multiple awards. Lance Bradley was also given the Best Journalist award for the second time in a row.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *